Tags


I’m Going with Mid Century Modern . . .

20150718-IMG_0442-2

Some of you know I recently sold my farm cottage along a beautiful Oregon river. Almost FORTY years there meant this was no easy task! I had collected tons of cottage antiques and treasures. Seriously, every daily walk I returned with brimming pockets. Even my very last walk I found a large dried tree root pockmarked with smooth indentations where the root grew around stones that pinned it to the floor of the river for eons. I hauled it along with me and plan to suspend it from a rafter with tiny led lights in chandelier fashion.

And fifty years of gathering my furnishings they provide a very eclectic mix of antiques and art that filled the river cottage and completely overflowed the massive UPACK trailer I rented. OH what is a gal to do???

In the last month I have easily looked at 300+ houses on-line, culminating in at least 35 drive-bys and about 15 walk thru’s! I dismissed one ugly ranch home repeatedly but somehow it got printed out 3 times! The photos on-line were some of the poorest real estate photography I have ever seen. The realtor even posted 2 identical closet interior photos (and nothing of the kitchen). I had to really study the 2 pictures before I realized it was the inside of a closet! And the front of the home appeared to have a large “black hole” for the exterior’s “money-shot” main photo (as seen next). No wonder I was never intrigued enough to even plan a drive-by.

98592279

After several weeks of frustrating long drives to homes that appeared wonderful on-line and finding only really scary joints, eventually I reduced the amount of land I wanted and upped my price range. It only resulted in adding 7 or so homes to be viewed. : (

Next I printed out each home and started doing drive-bys before even bothering my realtor. I had already drug her out to a great home but it was next door to a gravel pit. One was near the sanitation land fill. And I can’t tell you how many were near massive corporate dairies with stench beyond belief!!! Finally found 2 with locations that were okay as long as city graveyards or contaminated community wells don’t freak you out . . . but why did I have all these print outs of the ugly ranch with the black hole in my stack of possibilities?

Eventually I found myself a few blocks from where the ugly ranch with the black hole sits. Mind you I never planned to live inside city limits, but since I was right there and the printout was in my hand I whipped around the corner. Here’s what I found! So far it is the cleanest home in my price range and the yard/lot is a third acre so the big dogs will approve of the huge fenced backyard! I made an offer and inspections begin in a few days. I’ll post interior photos later in the week but it does have an open floor plan for the living/dining/kitchen. It will be fun to remodel but will mean ALL MY VINTAGE COTTAGE FURNISHINGS will be homeless while I’m here. I haven’t given up on returning to land and room to roam but this will be a warm happy home to carry us thru the winter . . . and I will either start over house hunting in early spring or embrace this new way of living and carry on over on Easy Street! After all those years of beating back blackberries a change sounds great!

 Here’s the “black hole”:20150718-IMG_0426 20150718-IMG_0442-2 20150718-IMG_0425 20150718-IMG_0424I love the courtyard and can’t wait to overhaul it!

The deck needs some work but will be a great outdoor space when I finish.

20150718-IMG_0437 20150718-IMG_0435 20150718-IMG_0433 20150718-IMG_0440

 Keep your fingers crossed that the inspections go well!

 

