When blogger’s decided to unite and send out the message that we must not become complacent to the horrors BP has created, well, I cringed. Then I ignored the email for a week – without deleting it.

Given my passion for Nature and always being ready to visit any version of a Big Blue Sky Hotel, I must say this entire slick mess has been sitting very heavy on my shoulders. In fact, I feel an exceptional tight muscle clench around my upper torso just now as I attempt putting these thoughts on paper. Being thousands of miles away from underwater oil clouds does not lessen my anguish.

I have spent many days of my life swimming with dolphins and sting rays, romping on white shores gleaming with perfect pink petal shells, endlessly photographing shore birds, snorkeling in great reefs and wondering why I don’t own a swimsuit that cups my butt instead of riding up!  In fact, fond early memories are of my 9 year old self dancing a fast jig as tidal pools of glittering tiny anchovies tickle my legs and avoid my coffee can scoop. Later as a 10 year old I ventured alone (yes, kids used to get to do that!) down 3.5 miles of shore to small mountains of exposed ocean rocks. It was the lowest tide of the year and a group of college students and their professors took me under their wing for a few hours. I was thirsty and ripe for their knowledge and a peek at what was normally far deep beyond my means. For months anemones and intense colored starfish intertwined my dreams. During my mid to late forties I was blessed to find myself traversing across ancient frozen oceans and this time I was the teacher, presenting rainforest presentations to entire Alaskan villages (traveling with 70+ live reptiles/amphibians/insects, one of which was a 4 foot American alligator).

It has long been my passion to help people open their minds to the sensual pleasures that calms us as we view the magic of light washing across the cycle of a day and night, noting a warm caress as a breeze guides you through a meadow, inhaling the scents of a fresh forest rain, and understanding how quickly the best Earth offers can become off balance by man failing to think of the larger picture.

I share this exceptional video to remind us of Earth’s magnificence and beauty when man does not interfere. Please pass it along and help me continue to create passion for the Earth itself.

As a side note: I can easily say I was the first woman to bring an alligator to the frozen Yukon! The children of Anaktuvuk Pass (a village in the Brooks Mountain range and mountain pass in North Slope Borough, Alaska, United States) were as memorable as the vivid dancing auroras and the vast spectacular wilderness they lived in. I also am thankful I never came face to face with the likes of Sarah Palin and her Drill Baby Drill brood.

