Tags

, , , , , , ,


Lately I have been thinking a lot about all the resource that surrounds me.  I also feel guilty that my 6.5 acres, which is now inside city limits, is not currently as productive as I would like it to be. I also have been reading an old paper  folder filled with notes from a class I taught long ago. The theme was to collect and share ideas on how to eat very well while consuming less of the planets limited food resources. As I refresh old ideas I find they are still timely, especially in our current world state. Making more from less may not be fashionable, but it should never be out of style. The class was meant to be one path in the journey of looking for ways that grow out of  tradition and assist us in living joyful simpler lives.

The quickest changes can be seen and felt by starting in the kitchen. You soon note there is more food on the table and more money in your pocket.  If your family, and mine, ate better, we would spend less on prepared food and be healthier, as well as wiser. People who make the effort to eat more responsibly enjoy the side effect of enjoying their food more, while eating less. Less expensive protein rich recipes are usually low fat, low cost, and low sugar. And your children will absorb these new values to carry with them throughout their lifetimes. I am not referring to raising a big organic garden and canning all your own food. Sure, I would encourage anyone to consider doing that too – it is easier than you think. But my class shared how to adapt recipes and meals to add nutritional value, color, and variety. This is also easier than you think.

Years ago a friend of mine was in transition and she spent a year with me at the cottage farmhouse. She had raised two great daughters so it never occurred to me that my friend dished up prepared food and was not into the same language of cooking that I knew. She would toss open the refrigerator door and just stand there looking everything over. Then the door would shut and she would announce that we needed to go food shopping. I would open the door, take out a few staple items, open the pantry and add an item or two, then I’d whip up a meal. No, it rarely had a name. I seldom follow a recipe. After Mrs. Exley’s home economic high school classes, I didn’t even know this wasn’t how most people cooked and ate. My friend now is a wonderful creative cook, and she laughs as she tells her guests about observing me in my kitchen that year, “She could just pull food out of thin air and make it delicious too!”

I plan to re-organize my tested ideas and information, and will begin to share more of it here. Perhaps I will need to create a separate blog just for these recipes and ideas.

Until then, listen to this video and let it open your mind. Dear friends, you can begin the process of thinking pro-food (with or without me) to condition yourself to re-think your ways and reshape your life:

