Tags

, , , , ,


I love small towns and since my Canon camera is almost permanently attached to my body, I carry home as much of small town America as possible.

A trip to Roslyn Washington could fill an album all by itself! But this mural of Brando stood high above all the other great images I found. Northern Exposure fans will recall Roslyn was the true setting of the hit television series. We had lunch at The Brick and added our own commentary in front of Chris in the Morning radio set.

Marlon Brando resides in Roslyn Washington

One of my favorite moments of the day was meeting a photogenic border collie. Her owner came outside to talk when the pooch tried getting into my car, then we spent 40 minutes getting a first hand rundown of what it is like living in Roslyn, both yesterday and today in North Central Washington. He had a corral in the backyard and kept their horses in town. I loved it when he pointed out a trailhead across the street. His wife saddles up and can ride forever immediately outside their back door!

Note to potential Roslyn or Enumclaw visitors:

Reserve your motel ahead of time! This part of the world locally closes up about 7 PM. There are no motels in Roslyn. We got the last available room in nearby Enumclaw and there were 6 groups standing in line out the door behind us. The train track was merely a few feet beyond the motel parking lot. That did not turn out to be an issue, but the parked refrigerator semi truck rumbling outside/under our room meant we paid a lot of money for a place we could not sleep, so it made for an expensive place to shower. Probably the earliest I have ever checked out of a room!

