Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


A Hammock Hangs Under the Folly
A Hammock Hangs Under the Folly I love art.

I love gardens.

I truly love gardens filled with beautiful flowers and lovely one-of-a-kind art. And of course BLUE is one of my favorite colors.

That is exactly what I found when I recently explored the private gardening art world of Bee Smith near Oregon City, Oregon.

Immediately I began to notice habitual collecting and re-purposing of both common and unusual castoff items, and I knew I had exited well beyond the box of any normal run of the mill yard. Bee’s land and home exudes talent, love, peace and harmony.

Her vibrant plantings and vivid structures of wood and metal spoke excitedly to my core as I wandered her grounds in an overloaded meditative enthralled trance.

Here are some other amazing facts:
-Bee does not collaborate art and gardening efforts with her husband. She smiled and told me they do not really work well together on projects – so his participation is mowing and chainsawing.
-Bee designed their passive solar heated home that she and her husband built.
-Bee has not been gardening all her life.
-In fact, gardening has become something she started later on in life, after their home was finished.

My camera is scheduled for a much needed cleaning next week. However, I could not let this stop me from documenting Bee Smith’s creative energy. The day was warm so I also did not drag around my tripod for those crisp clean shots. It is fine; no matter the quality of my work, you will still feel the love grown by this remarkable gardening artist. Her canvas stretches and grows, and the best part is it eagerly accepts expansion and free flowing changes whenever Bee finds another piece of inspiration. You will also quickly note that blue is the favored color in Bee’s creative world.

Large Vivid Re-purposed Installation

Large Vivid Re-purposed Installation

Oregon Grape in Bloom

Oregon Grape in Bloom

Inviting Side Yard

Inviting Side Yard

Here are a few individual samples of Bee’s Blue Art Garden. Or simply click below for a gallery slide-show that takes you around the house, through an enchanted child’s tea party garden, down the trail to the creek and deepest woods, around the bend to the back garden edges, and looping back past the folly be sure to check for Bee taking a rare rest in the folly’s inviting hammock.

2009_06_28 Click here Slide Show Bee Smith’s Blue Art Garden
